Epiphan Connect limitations and known issues
Epiphan Connect has the following known issues and limitations that affect functionality or usability, with workarounds where they exist.
**Quality of primary speaker decreases when speakers change in Epiphan Connect: **Sometimes when the Primary Speaker in Microsoft Teams switches the video quality will degrade.
**Epiphan Connect number of meeting participants does not match number shown in Microsoft Teams: **This is a limitation in the number of participants that are listed by Microsoft Teams in the meeting and usually only happens in meetings that get close to ~99 participants. Inside such meetings, if you open the list of participants in Microsoft Teams (by clicking on the People icon on the top bar of the meeting) and you expand the list to see all participants, you will find at the bottom of the list a label with the text "+X more", where X is usually the difference in the number of participants reported in Epiphan Connect and the number shown in the Microsoft Teams call.
Another contributing factor could be other applications or bots that might be connected to the call (from Microsoft or other third parties). Epiphan Connect automatically filters out any unsupported applications of bots from the list of participants.
Cannot retrieve name of meeting and meeting is labeled as "Teams Meeting" or "Zoom Meeting": This is a limitation that happens when a meeting is associated with a channel inside Microsoft Teams. This happens when you create the meeting directly inside a channel, when you attach a channel to a meeting you are creating in Microsoft Teams' calendar, or when you create a meeting from within a Microsoft Teams team. As long as you don't associate a channel to the meeting, Epiphan Connect should be able to obtain the name of your meeting. To work around this issue, Epiphan Connect allows you to rename a meeting in the UI by clicking on the pencil button besides the meeting name (this does not affect the name of the meeting in Microsoft Teams). In Zoom, Epiphan Connect won't be able to get the name of the Zoom meeting until it starts and connects to your meeting. In the meantime, Epiphan Connect will simply show your meeting with the name "Zoom Meeting" and will automatically update it to the correct name once it joins the call. If for some reason Epiphan Connect fails to obtain the meeting name after joining the call, it will keep the default "Zoom Meeting" name. You can also change the meeting name in the Epiphan Connect UI.
Video quality does not look like a fully HD image: The video is actually scaled down in Microsoft Teams before it is extracted by Epiphan Connect. Microsoft Teams automatically changes the resolution and frame rate of the video sent by each participant based on their camera, network bandwidth, and available hardware. The resolution and frame rate for any participant might change multiple times during the duration of the call. Epiphan Connect tries to mitigate this by upscaling and duplicating frames to achieve the output resolution and frame rate requested in the configuration. There is currently no known workaround to lock the video resolution and frame rate of a participant inside Microsoft Teams.
After revoking the permissions to Epiphan Connect in my Microsoft Teams organization, there is an error when trying to pair Epiphan Connect with the organization again: Right after you revoke the permissions for Epiphan Connect in your organization, you might need to wait a few minutes for the change to be propagated in Azure AD. Otherwise, if you try to pair the same Epiphan Edge team to your organization again right after you revoked the permissions, you might experience some transient issues. Please wait at least one minute and try again. If the issue persists, please contact Support.
When using multiple Epiphan Connect instances in the same meeting, after disconnecting the instance of Epiphan Connect that is using the Return feed stream there is no "Epiphan Connect is at work" image displayed, instead the Epiphan Connect instance appears as a normal user with a basic Epiphan Connect icon.
When using Epiphan Connect with Zoom if you intend to have multiple Epiphan Connect bots join multiple different meetings make sure that each meeting is using a unique meeting ID. By default when creating a New Meeting Zoom uses your Personal Meeting ID. Read more about Personal Meeting IDs in Zoom here, https://support.zoom.us/hc/en-us/articles/203276937-Using-Personal-Meeting-ID-PMI-. If you use the same meeting link with multiple instances of Epiphan Connect multiple bots will join the same meeting.
When extracting the screenshare in a Zoom meeting, if you enable audio for the screenshare you will hear the voice of the participant that is sharing the screen: When extracting the screenshare in Zoom, the audio of the extraction doesn't contain the computer sound shared by the participant. When using Epiphan Connect for Zoom in isolated audio mode, if a participant shares their screen and selects the Share audio option, Epiphan Connect won't be able to capture an isolated audio feed for that shared audio. As a result, the audio feed for the screenshare will only contain the voice of the participant that is sharing their screen.
**The host removed Epiphan Connect from the Zoom meeting, and now Epiphan Connect cannot join the meeting again:**In Zoom, the option for removing a participant is similar to banning that participant from joining the meeting. This is why, when disconnecting an Epiphan Connect instance from a meeting, we strongly suggest to use the Disconnect option in the Epiphan Connect UI. If Epiphan Connect is removed from the call, no new instances of Epiphan Connect will be able to join the meeting. This ban last for as long as the meeting is active. Once the host ends the meeting, the ban is lifted and Epiphan Connect should be able to join again the next time the meeting is started.
Epiphan Connect fails to join my Zoom call with the message "Only authenticated users can join this meeting": All Zoom meetings require the participants to be authenticated, please make sure that Epiphan Connect has been properly authorized within Zoom, see: Pair your Zoom account with Epiphan Connect.
A participant disconnected and reconnected to the meeting, but Epiphan Connect thinks it's a new participant: In Microsoft Teams calls, Epiphan Connect can determine if a participant that is joining the call is the same participant that had previously left the call, and if there was a running SRT extraction for that participant, it will automatically "patch" to recover the stream. In Zoom this is not supported and Epiphan Connect cannot detect if a participant that is joining the call is the same as the one that left mid-stream. You will need to manually stop their previous SRT extraction and start it again for the participant.
Sometimes Epiphan Connect doesn't show a slate image while inside the meeting: In Zoom, if a participant (or another instance of Epiphan Connect) is already recording or streaming content before Epiphan Connect joins, once Epiphan Connect is in the meeting, it will not be able to send any image into the meeting. Note that this affects only the image that Epiphan Connect sends into the call. All extractions will still work as usual, given that the proper permissions were granted to the Epiphan Connect.
The host is unable to grant permissions to Epiphan Connect in my Zoom meeting: This can happen for several reasons: If the host is joining the call from a browser, instead of using a Zoom client, they might not have the options to accept requests or grant permissions manually to Epiphan Connect. Also depending on how the host has configured the meeting, they might have more or fewer options that they can use to grant permissions to Epiphan Connect. If the host rejected the permission request accidentally, you can also disconnect and reconnect the bot. This will re-trigger the permission requests again.