# The Factory default configuration preset and Factory reset

Administrators can apply the default factory configuration preset to Pearl-2s or Unify projects, which resets most of the settings in each of the main configuration groups. Applying the factory default configuration preset is similar to a factory reset, but a **Factory reset ** is more invasive. This table describes the differences.

**Table 38 Factory default configuration preset vs a factory reset**

| **Item** | **Factory default ** **configuration preset** | **Factory reset function** |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Deletes all created channels | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all recorded files in the channels |  | ✔ |
| Deletes all created multi-track recorders | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all recorded files in multi-track recorders |  | ✔ |
| Resets network configuration | ✔ | ✔ |
| Resets touch screen configuration | ✔ | ✔ |
| Resets user passwords | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all created configuration presets |  | ✔ |
| Removes all CMS including Epiphan Edge registration information | ✔ | ✔ |
| Removes records for all scheduled and completed CMS events | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all uploaded media files |  | ✔ |
| Resets all Source settings | ✔ | ✔ |
| Resets EDID to factory | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all SCP/SFTP identities | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all LDAP settings | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all Automatic file upload settings | ✔ | ✔ |

There are different ways you can apply the **Factory default** configuration preset to the Pearl-2, you can:

- Apply a configuration preset using the Admin panel

A reboot is required to apply the factory default configuration preset.

Operators who are assigned certain administrative-level privileges can apply the Factory default configuration preset and perform a factory reset.

> product: pearl-2 · topic: configuration · source: pearl-2-userguide.md · updated: Oct 13, 2026
