Export and import configuration presets
Applies to: Pearl-2, Pearl Mini, Pearl Nexus, Pearl Nano
You can download configuration presets to your local computer, then upload and apply the preset to another device or save the configuration preset as a backup of your current configuration. Either way, it's a simple two-step process to download the preset from one system and upload it to another.
Before you begin
- Read Configuration preset considerations.
- Configuration presets are not cross compatible between different Pearl models or between devices and Unify projects.
- You cannot download/upload configuration presets using the local console on the device. Use the web-based Admin panel instead.
Download or export a configuration preset using the Admin panel
- Log in to the Admin panel as admin.
- From the Configuration menu, Click Maintenance. The maintenance page opens.
- In the Configuration presets section, click the Download button next to the configuration preset you want to export. The configuration preset file (with extension .preset) is saved to your admin workstation (in your browser's download folder).
Import a configuration preset using the Admin panel
- Log in to the Admin panel as admin.
- From the Configuration menu, click Maintenance. The maintenance page opens.
- In the Import configuration preset section, click Choose file and select the file you want to upload (with the extension .preset), then click OK.
- Click Import.
- If your system already has a configuration preset with the same name as the one you're loading, a warning is shown. Click OK to overwrite the existing preset or Cancel to cancel the upload.
What's next
After you upload a configuration preset file, you must apply the configuration preset to the device.
Device differences
- Pearl-2 and Pearl Mini: you can alternatively apply the imported preset using the touch screen โ see "Apply a configuration preset using the touch screen or front screen menu."
- Pearl Nano: applying the preset after import uses the standard Admin panel procedure: from the Configuration menu, click Maintenance, then under Configuration presets, copy the preset name into the Name field, select the groups to include, click Save, then OK to overwrite.