# Configuration preset considerations

There are important considerations that you should know before you start using configuration presets, including:

- Access to presets and privacy considerations

- Recording and streaming states

- Recorded files in a channel or recorder

- The potential to lock the device screen

- Orphaned Kaltura resource registrations and duplicate resources

- Channel and recorder index number behavior on Pearl Mini

- Deleting channels and recorders

- and more

**Access to presets and privacy considerations**

- Recorded files are not removed when you apply a configuration preset. Any user with access to Pearl Mini has access to all the saved recordings, custom channel layout, etc that are associated with an applied configuration preset.

- Configuration presets can be overwritten and deleted without a password. Users who are logged in to the Admin panel can remove or change an existing configuration preset.

- Applying a configuration preset does not clear the settings from groups that aren't a part of the preset, which means user information is not private.

- Media and recorded files can be deleted, affecting more than just the currently applied configuration preset. Users can erase uploaded media or recordings that belong to other users.

**Locking out the touch screen on Pearl Mini**

The **touch screen** configuration group includes all the security settings for the touch screen. It's possible to apply a preset that effectively locks out all further use of the touch screen. If this happens, use the Admin panel to re-enable the touch screen.

**Channel and recorder index number behavior (Pearl Mini)**

Each channel and recorder has an index number. The first channel created on a system is channel 1, subsequently channel 2, 3, 4, etc. Recorders are also created starting at index 1 with numbers incrementing as new recorders are created. The channel (or recorder) index number is found to the left of the channel or recorder name in the Admin panel:

Configuration presets that contain the **channels **configuration group specify the channels in the preset by their index number. This means if you have channels 1, 2, 3 and 4 when you save your preset, applying that preset will overwrite the configuration of your current channels with indexes 1, 2, 3 and 4. If prior to applying that preset you also had channels with indexes 5 and 6, the configuration settings for those two channels are erased when the preset is applied (because the preset only has 4 channels).

There are three areas where channel (and recorder) index numbers affect what happens when applying configuration presets.

> product: pearl-mini · topic: configuration · source: pearl-mini-userguide.md · updated: Oct 6, 2026
