# The Factory default configuration preset and Factory reset

Administrators can apply the default factory configuration preset to Pearl Minis or Unify projects, which resets most of the settings in each of the main configuration groups. Applying the factory default configuration preset is similar to a factory reset, but a **Factory reset ** is more invasive. This table describes the differences.

**Table 36 Factory default configuration preset vs a factory reset**

| **Item** | **Factory default ** **configuration preset** | **Factory reset function** |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Deletes all created channels | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all recorded files in the channels |  | ✔ |
| **Pearl Mini** - Deletes all created recorders | ✔ | ✔ |
| **Pearl Mini** - Deletes all recorded files in recorders |  | ✔ |
| Resets network configuration | ✔ | ✔ |
| **Pearl Mini** - Resets touch screen configuration | ✔ | ✔ |
| Resets user passwords | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all created configuration presets |  | ✔ |
| Removes all CMS including Epiphan Edge registration information | ✔ | ✔ |
| Removes records for all scheduled and completed CMS events | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all uploaded media files |  | ✔ |
| Resets all Source settings | ✔ | ✔ |
| Resets EDID to factory | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all SCP/SFTP identities | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all LDAP settings | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all Automatic file upload settings | ✔ | ✔ |

There are different ways you can apply the **Factory default** configuration preset to the Pearl Mini, you can:

- Apply a configuration preset using the Admin panel

A reboot is required to apply the factory default configuration preset.

Operators who are assigned certain administrative-level privileges can apply the Factory default configuration preset and perform a factory reset.

> product: pearl-mini · topic: configuration · source: pearl-mini-userguide.md · updated: Oct 6, 2026
