# Configuration preset considerations

There are important considerations that you should know before you start using configuration presets, including:

- Access to presets and privacy considerations

- Recording and streaming states

- Recorded files in a channel

- The potential to lock the device screen

- Orphaned Kaltura resource registrations and duplicate resources

- and more

**Access to presets and privacy considerations**

- Recorded files are not removed when you apply a configuration preset. Any user with access to Pearl Nano has access to all the saved recordings, custom channel layout, etc that are associated with an applied configuration preset.

- Configuration presets can be overwritten and deleted without a password. Users who are logged in to the Admin panel can remove or change an existing configuration preset.

- Applying a configuration preset does not clear the settings from groups that aren't a part of the preset, which means user information is not private.

- Media and recorded files can be deleted, affecting more than just the currently applied configuration preset. Users can erase uploaded media or recordings that belong to other users.

**Locking out the front screen on Pearl Nano**

The **front screen** configuration group includes the PIN security setting for the front screen. It's possible to apply a preset that effectively locks out all further use of the front screen. If this happens, use the Admin panel to reset or disable the PIN.

### Recording and streaming states

The Channel **(single channel on Pearl Nano)** configuration group includes recording and streaming states for Channel. This means that if a channel is streaming or a channel is recording at the time you create a configuration preset, the channel will immediately start recording (or streaming) whenever you apply that preset to the channel. Similarly, if a configuration preset is created when a channel is not recording (or streaming), applying that preset later won't cause the channel to start recording (or streaming).

This means a channel may stop recording or streaming as a result of applying the preset if the channel was actively recording or streaming before applying the preset.

**Pearl Nano preset example**

For example, when applying a preset to a channel set to record (the same example applies for streaming):

- If the channel is already recording, the file continues recording uninterrupted unless the recording file type in the applied preset is different. In that case, a new file is started and recording resumes using the new file.

- If the channel is not already recording, it immediately begins recording when the preset is applied.

#### Recorded files in a channel

A channel keeps a list of recordings in the **Recordings** section in the Admin panel. These files remain on the system even if the channel configuration is changed as a result of applying a configuration preset.

**Pearl Nano example**

If you delete any of the recordings, you are deleting the *only* instance of those files. For example, if you delete one of five recordings from the channel after creating a configuration preset, you'll find that even after applying the preset, the channel will still have only four recorded files.

For details on orphaned Kaltura resource registrations and duplicate resources after a factory reset or configuration preset, see the Pearl CMS shared guide.

> product: pearl-nano · topic: configuration · source: pearl-nano-userguide.md · updated: Oct 7, 2026
