# The Factory default configuration preset and Factory reset

Administrators can apply the default factory configuration preset to Pearl Nanos or Unify projects, which resets most of the settings in each of the main configuration groups. Applying the factory default configuration preset is similar to a factory reset, but a **Factory reset ** is more invasive. This table describes the differences.

**Table 32 Factory default configuration preset vs a factory reset**

| **Item** | **Factory default ** **configuration preset** | **Factory reset function** |
| --- | --- | --- |
| **Pearl Nano** - Resets the channel settings | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all recorded files in the Channel (Pearl Nano has a single channel) |  | ✔ |
| Resets network configuration | ✔ | ✔ |
| **Pearl Nano** - Resets front screen PIN | ✔ | ✔ |
| Resets user passwords | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all created configuration presets |  | ✔ |
| Removes all CMS including Epiphan Edge registration information | ✔ | ✔ |
| Removes records for all scheduled and completed CMS events | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all uploaded media files |  | ✔ |
| Resets all Source settings | ✔ | ✔ |
| Resets EDID to factory | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all SCP/SFTP identities | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all LDAP settings | ✔ | ✔ |
| Deletes all Automatic file upload settings | ✔ | ✔ |

There are different ways you can apply the **Factory default** configuration preset to the Pearl Nano, you can:

- Apply a configuration preset using the Admin panel

- Apply a configuration preset using the front screen menu — see "Apply a configuration preset using the touch screen or front screen menu" in the Pearl Family shared guide

A reboot is required to apply the factory default configuration preset.

Operators who are assigned certain administrative-level privileges can apply the Factory default configuration preset and perform a factory reset.

> product: pearl-nano · topic: configuration · source: pearl-nano-userguide.md · updated: Oct 7, 2026
