๐Ÿ“˜ Epiphan Knowledge
All pages ยท unify

Manually set the time zone

You can manually set the time zone. Unify uses the Eastern (Canada) time zone by default.

Set the date, time, and zone manually using the Admin panel

Configuration presets

Configuration presets are the perfect solution for backing up your system configuration so you can restore later when needed. They are also useful if you have changing configuration requirements for Unify or are managing multiple systems and you want them to have similar configurations.

About configuration presets

Configuration presets are groups of settings that get applied to the system, leaving other important settings intact. They make it easy to manage multiple Unify setups in shared spaces, like a studio, and ensures a consistent setup each time you go to use Unify. You can even export a configuration preset and upload it to another Unify system.

Configuration presets are not cross compatible between different Pearl models or between Pearl systems and Unify projects.

The system's settings are divided into the following configuration groups. You can choose to include any number and combination of configuration groups in a preset and create as many different configuration presets as you need.

You can create and apply any saved configuration preset from the Configuration menu when you select Maintenance using the Admin panel.

It's important to note that configuration presets are applied over existing settings. They affect only the settings groups included in the preset. All other settings are unaffected. Read the Configuration preset considerations section carefully to understand caveats around using configuration presets.

Example of presets in action

You could upload custom background images to Unify in advance of a conference and create custom channel configuration presets for several different keynote speakers, each with a different setup, and then apply them later when you need them.

For example, you could create two configuration presets called Session 1 and Session 2. Each session could include things like custom backgrounds, images and logos, channels and layouts, metadata, streaming settings, and automatic file upload (AFU) locations. Then download those presets to your local computer so you can upload them to your entire fleet of Unify systems.

Channel configuration includes any applied backgrounds and image files. If these files aren't present when the configuration preset is saved, the save function will fail. Be careful when deleting background images and logo files.

At the conference, simply apply the configuration preset that you need for the appropriate session using the Admin panel . When applying the configuration preset, all other preset groups remain unchanged. The preset only affects channels and their configuration.

Session 1 preset
Session 1 presenter data and background image plus the conference IP address
Session 2 preset
Session 2 presenter data and background image plus the conference IP address

After applying a configuration preset, recorded files from the previous session remain present on the system. If AFU is configured, the recorded files continue to upload even after the new configuration preset is applied (if AFU is not yet complete), but the channels reflect the newly loaded session's background file name and presenter name.

Configuration preset considerations

There are important considerations that you should know before you start using configuration presets, including:

Access to presets and privacy considerations

Recording and streaming states

The channels configuration group includes recording and streaming states for channels . This means that if a channel is streaming or a channel is recording at the time you create a configuration preset, the channel will immediately start recording (or streaming) whenever you apply that preset to the channel. Similarly, if a configuration preset is created when a channel is not recording (or streaming), applying that preset later won't cause the channel to start recording (or streaming).

This means a channel may stop recording or streaming as a result of applying the preset if the channel was actively recording or streaming before applying the preset.

Recorded files in a channel

A channel (and recorder) keeps a list of recordings in the Recordings section in the Admin panel. These files remain on the system even if the channel (or recorder) configuration is changed as a result of applying a configuration preset.

Configuration groups

The following table describes what settings are saved with each configuration group.

Table 3 Configuration group definitions

Group Name Settings included in the configuration group
Inputs Unify only supports SRT inputs.
Channel(s) All channel configuration data and current recording state, all layouts) images used in layouts, streaming state, all recording configuration data and current recording state.
AFU Automatic file upload type, parameters and schedules. SFTP/SCP private keys are included (in encrypted format) in the automatic file upload preset.

Create a configuration preset

You can create as many configuration presets as you need; however, there's a limit to the amount of space available for configuration presets. A maximum of 256 MB is available for configuration presets and the maximum size of a single configuration preset is 128 MB.

Before creating and using a configuration preset, read Configuration preset considerations.

For each configuration preset you create, you get to name the preset and choose which groups of settings to include. See Configuration groups for which settings are included in each group.

After you finish configuring Unify, it's good practice to save a full backup with all groups selected so that you can restore your full configuration at a later date.

Important considerations

Create a configuration preset using the Admin panel

After a configuration preset has been created, you can select which sections of the configuration preset to apply. For more information, see Apply a configuration preset using the Admin panel.

Create a configuration preset using Epiphan cloud

Apply a configuration preset using the Admin panel

When you apply a configuration preset, the system settings for all included configuration groups are updated. Other settings on the system are not affected. For example if you apply a preset that includes the configuration groups channels and automatic file upload, your network settings, passwords, time server, source configurations, etc are not modified. Similarly, if you apply a configuration preset that has only **network **settings included, only the network settings change.

You can verify which configuration groups are included in a preset by looking at the list to the right of the configuration preset name. The term 'all' means all groups are included. Otherwise groups are listed individually.

You may apply multiple presets one after another. If you apply two (or more) configuration presets that include a particular configuration group, the settings (for that group) from the last applied preset are the active settings. In short, last in wins.

Apply a configuration preset using the Admin panel

Export and import configuration presets

You can download configuration presets to your local computer, then upload and apply the preset to another Unify or save the configuration preset as a backup of your current configuration. Either way, it's a simple two-step process to download the preset from one system and upload it to another.

Before you begin

Download or export a configuration preset using the Admin panel

Import a configuration preset using the Admin panel

What's next

After you upload a configuration preset file, you must apply the configuration preset to Unify. To apply the configuration preset, see Apply a configuration preset using the Admin panel

Update a configuration preset

To update a configuration preset, or add/remove different configuration groups from the preset using the Admin panel, use the following procedure:

Update a configuration preset using the Admin panel

Delete a configuration preset

You can delete individual configuration presets from the Maintenance page in the Admin panel.

Delete a configuration preset using the Admin panel

Was this helpful?
Source: unify-userguide.md ยท id unify/manually-set-the-time-zone ยท Updated Oct 7, 2026 ยท view as markdown