Configuration preset considerations
There are important considerations that you should know before you start using configuration presets, including:
Access to presets and privacy considerations
Recording and streaming states
Recorded files in a channel
The potential to lock the device screen
Orphaned Kaltura resource registrations and duplicate resources
and more
Access to presets and privacy considerations
Recorded files are not removed when you apply a configuration preset. Any user with access to Pearl Nano has access to all the saved recordings, custom channel layout, etc that are associated with an applied configuration preset.
Configuration presets can be overwritten and deleted without a password. Users who are logged in to the Admin panel can remove or change an existing configuration preset.
Applying a configuration preset does not clear the settings from groups that aren't a part of the preset, which means user information is not private.
Media and recorded files can be deleted, affecting more than just the currently applied configuration preset. Users can erase uploaded media or recordings that belong to other users.
Locking out the front screen on Pearl Nano
The front screen configuration group includes the PIN security setting for the front screen. It's possible to apply a preset that effectively locks out all further use of the front screen. If this happens, use the Admin panel to reset or disable the PIN.
Recording and streaming states
The Channel (single channel on Pearl Nano) configuration group includes recording and streaming states for Channel. This means that if a channel is streaming or a channel is recording at the time you create a configuration preset, the channel will immediately start recording (or streaming) whenever you apply that preset to the channel. Similarly, if a configuration preset is created when a channel is not recording (or streaming), applying that preset later won't cause the channel to start recording (or streaming).
This means a channel may stop recording or streaming as a result of applying the preset if the channel was actively recording or streaming before applying the preset.
Pearl Nano preset example
For example, when applying a preset to a channel set to record (the same example applies for streaming):
If the channel is already recording, the file continues recording uninterrupted unless the recording file type in the applied preset is different. In that case, a new file is started and recording resumes using the new file.
If the channel is not already recording, it immediately begins recording when the preset is applied.
Recorded files in a channel
A channel keeps a list of recordings in the Recordings section in the Admin panel. These files remain on the system even if the channel configuration is changed as a result of applying a configuration preset.
Pearl Nano example
If you delete any of the recordings, you are deleting the only instance of those files. For example, if you delete one of five recordings from the channel after creating a configuration preset, you'll find that even after applying the preset, the channel will still have only four recorded files.
For details on orphaned Kaltura resource registrations and duplicate resources after a factory reset or configuration preset, see the Pearl CMS shared guide.